The Screamers – Recordings

>> return to The Screamers page >>

This index includes unofficial recordings (no official releases exist)

A. Recordings

1. Screamers ‎– Punish Or Be Damned
Label: not on label
Catalog Number: none
Format: Vinyl, 2×7″, 45 RPM, double-Single
Released: 1989

Notes: Recorded live in December 1978 at The Masque in Hollywood.

A ‎– Punish Or Be Damned
B ‎– Vertigo (Let’s Go)
C ‎– Magazine Love
D ‎– Peer Pressure

2. The Screamers ‎– Scuzzy The Death Cone Clown Demos 1978
Label: Death Cone Records
Catalog Number: DC-1
Format: Vinyl, 2×7″, 45 RPM, double-EP
Released: circa 1994

Notes: Collection of demos, alternating between the Screamer’s first demo session in the summer of 1977 and perhaps their last (late 1978): Tracks A, B1, C2: recorded late 1978; Track C2: recorded for film “Population One”; Tracks B2, C1, D: first Screamers demo session, July 7, 1977 recorded on a TEAC 2340 4-Track.

A ‎– And The Beat Goes On [s/b I’m A Mensch]
B1 ‎– The Scream
B2 ‎– Magazine Love
C1 ‎– Peer Pressure
C2 ‎– Need A Head-On [s/b Why The World]
D ‎– Punish Or Be Damned
[Tracks A and C2 are incorrectly listed on the record sleeve; correct titles noted above.]

3. Screamers ‎– Demos 1977 Volume One
Label: Stomach Ache Records
Catalog Number: none
Format: Vinyl, 7″, 33 1/3 RPM, EP
Released: 1996

Notes: Sleeve is 2 separate pieces of paper with full-sized artwork on the back. There is another design with a half-sized back, printed on either white paper or pale yellow paper. Product of first Screamers demo session, recorded July 7, 1977 on a TEAC 2340 4-Track.

A1 ‎– I Don’t Want Anything
A2 ‎– Mater Dolores
B ‎– Punish Or Be Damned

4. Screamers ‎– Magazine Love / Cholo Jump
Label: Meeuw Muzak
Catalog Number: mm024
Format: Vinyl, 7″, 45 RPM, Single
Released: 2003

Notes: Tracks recorded live at the Whiskey a Go Go on September 14, 1978. Limited edition of 400 copies.

A ‎– Magazine Love
B ‎– Cholo Jump

5. Screamers ‎– Demos 1977-78
Label: not on label
Catalog Number: SOB 01
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 33 1/3 RPM, LP
Released: 2008

Notes: A demo from summer 1978, recorded “live in the studio” by Geza X. Track A1 originally performed by Sonny & Cher; Track A3 originally performed by Germs.

A1 ‎– The Beat Goes On
A2 ‎– Thru The Flames
A3 ‎– Sex Boy
A4 ‎– If I Can’t Have What I Want (I Don’t Want Anything)
A5 ‎– She’s The Girl
A6 ‎– I Wanna Hurt
A7 ‎– 122 Hours Of Fear (Part 1)
B1 ‎– …122 Hours Of Fear (Part 2)
B2 ‎– Punished Or Be Damned
B3 ‎– Government Love Affair
B4 ‎– Peer Pressure
B5 ‎– In A Better World
B6 ‎– Vertigo
B7 ‎– Magazine Love
B8 ‎– It’s A Violent World

6. Screamers ‎– Pat Garrett Demos 7-7-77
Label: not on label
Catalog Number: none
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 33 1/3 RPM, single-sided LP
Released: 2009

Notes: First pressing limited to 300 numbered copies; second pressing, limited to 500 copies.

A1 ‎– Punish Or Be Damned
A2 ‎– Mater Dolores
A3 ‎– Peer Pressure
A4 ‎– Magazine Love
A5 ‎– Anything

7. Screamers ‎– Assault!
Label: Scream! Rekords
Catalog Number: SCREAM01
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 33 1/3 RPM, LP
Released: 2009

Notes: Tracks A1 to A6 and B8 recorded live at Mabuhay Gardens in San Francisco on September 2, 1978; tracks B1 and B2 are from the Pat Garrett Demos recorded on July 7, 1977; tracks B3 and B4 are from 1978 Demos; tracks B5 to B7 are from Rene Daalder / David Campbell Demos recorded in late 1978. Includes a folded insert reproducing lyrics and a 1979 interview.

A1 ‎– Vertigo
A2 ‎– Last 4 Digits
A3 ‎– Magazine Love
A4 ‎– The Beat Goes On
A5 ‎– Punish Or Be Damned
A6 ‎– In A Better World
B1 ‎– If I Can’t Have What I Want (I Don’t Want Anything)
B2 ‎– Mater Dolores
B3 ‎– Why The World
B4 ‎– The Scream
B5 ‎– I’m A Mensch
B6 ‎– The Scream
B7 ‎– Why The World
B8 ‎– 122 Hours Of Fear

8. Screamers ‎– Strength Through Intimidation
Label: not on label
Catalog Number: none
Format: Vinyl, 12″, 33 1/3 RPM, LP
Released: 2014

Notes: Recorded and engineered by Geza X during the summer of 1978, live to a 4-track cassette tape in one session in Paul Roessler’s garage.

A1 ‎– 122 Hours Of Fear I
A2 ‎– 122 Hours Of Fear II
A3 ‎– Through The Flames
A4 ‎– Sex Boy
A5 ‎– If I Can’t Have What I Want, I Don’t Want Anything
A6 ‎– The Girl In The Car With The Glasses And The Gun
A7 ‎– Magazine Love
A8 ‎– Punish Or Be Damned
B1 ‎– The Beat Goes On
B2 ‎– Peer Pressure
B3 ‎– I Wanna Hurt
B4 ‎– Vertigo
B5 ‎– It’s A Violent World
B6 ‎– In A Better World
B7 ‎– Don’t Pay The Whore