The Alley Cats

The Alley Cats were a Los Angeles-based punk rock trio featuring Dianne Chai (bass and vocals), Randy Stodola (guitar and vocals), and drummer John McCarthy. They were part of the first-wave L.A. punk rock scene. X’s John Doe described the band as having “made some of the toughest, most nihilistic music on the scene.”

Originally signed to Dangerhouse Records alongside other seminal California-based punk bands including the Bags, Black Randy and the Metro Squad, and X,The Alley Cats released their first single “Nothing Means Nothing Anymore” backed with “Give Me a Little Pain” in March of 1978. At Dangerous they released the album, Nightmare City (1981), while major label MCA released Escape From The Planet Earth (1982). They are among the six bands featured on the 1979 compilation album Yes L.A. and appear in the 1982 film Urgh! A Music War.

The Alley Cats were regular performers at such Los Angeles venues as Club 88, Hong Kong Café, The Masque, and the Whisky a Go Go.

A. Official Releases (7″ vinyl)

1. Alley Cats ‎– Nothing Means Nothing Anymore / Give Me A Little Pain
Label: Dangerhouse
Catalog Number: LOM-22
Format: Vinyl, 7″, 45 RPM, Single
Released: March 1978

Notes: Track B is titled “Give Me A Little Pain” on the sleeve and “Gimme A Little Pain” on the label. The runout etchings and labels indicate “Nothing Means Nothing Anymore” is side “AA” and “Gimme A Little Pain” is side “A”. Picture sleeve is a 14″ sheet folded in half.

A – Nothing Means Nothing Anymore
B – Gimme A Little Pain

2. The Alley Cats ‎– Too Much Junk
Label: Time Coast Records
Catalog Number: TC #22
Format: Vinyl, 7″, 45 RPM, Single
Released: 1980

Notes: includes two inserts-sleeve with either
white or black labels.

A – Too Much Junk
B – Night Along The Blvd.

Online Resources

Punk 77 – The Alley Cats biography